SPORT

Sol Plaatje University (SPU) sports contribute to the development and overall wellbeing of students by embracing diversity and providing students with the necessary opportunities and resources.

Our aim is to develop a holistic student, fostering their physical, social, and emotional wellbeing. We provide the desired student experience, by maximizing sport participation both recreational and competitively.

SPU sports are rooted in the fact that physical activity is vital in the holistic development of students, thus we aim to strike the right balance between academics and sports in providing students’ academic guidance, life skills, monitoring, and support.

As SPU sport, we strive to be one of the top sports Universities in the country thus we aspire to put up a centre or create an environment that is conducive for elite athletes.

 

 

 

 


Netball

Netball Volunteer Coach:  Tlhalefo Mokopudi

Cell: 060 491 6932

Email: tlhalefo.mokopudi@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Football: Male

Football Head Coach: Martin Donald Mojaki

Cell: 072 542 2777

Email: donald.mojaki@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Football: Female

Ladies Football Head Coach: Tumi Veldman

Cell: 072 692 8620

Email: tumi.veldman@spu.ac.za

Golf

Golf Head Coach: Nikeo Sonqishe

Cell: 079 694 3438

Email: nikelo.sonqishe@spu.ac.za 

 

 

 

 

 

Hockey: Female/Male

Hockey Head Coach: Farhad “Freddy” Adams

Cell: 074 266 2043

Email: farhad.adams@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Aerobics/Dance Sport

Aerobics/Dance Sport Head Coach: Katlego Khunou

Cell: 071 192 3252

Email: katlego.khunou@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Volleyball: Female/Male

Volleyball Head Coach: Peter Mamabolo

Cell: 082 086 8804

Email: peter.mamabolo@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Chess

Chess Coach: Xolani Mathebula

Cell: 062 433 5230

Email: ceboxolani@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

Karate

Karate Sensei: Shihan Simphiwe Dlulane

Cell: 083 780 5384

Email: simphiwe.dlulane@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Rugby: Female/Male

Rugby Head Coach: Jacques Ollie Mew

Cell: 082 527 7274 / 082 531 7493

Email: jacques.mew@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Cheerleading

Cheerleading Coach: Haroldene Veldsman

Cell: 084 350 8744

Email: haroldene.veldsman@spu.ac.za

Basketball: Female/Male

 

 

 

 

 

Tennis

Tennis Head Coach: Nolan van der Merwe

Cell: 074 266 2043

Email: nolan.vandermerwe@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Table Tennis

Table Tennis Coach: Neville Parker

Cell: 074 266 2043

Email: neville.parker@hotmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

Cricket

Cricket Head Coach: Anthony Mabuya

Cell: 074 578 0033

Email: anthonymabuya@spu.ac.za

 

 

 

 

 

Athletics – Track & Field / Cross Country

Athletics Track and Field Coach: Gys Smith

Cell: 082 302 0393

Email: Gysbert.smith@spu.ac.za

Cross Country Coach: Frik Guys

Cell: 073 617 5905

Email: frik.guys@spu.ac.za

Tennis

USSA team selection  to represent CUCSA (Confederation of University and Colleges) and FASU (Federation Of Africa University Sport)

2017 Selwin Cloete

2019 Selwin Cloete and June-Ann George

Volleyball

Thato Khomojong known as Tee Jay represented the (Northern Cape Kudus) Provincial Volleyball team in 2019 at Johannesburg in South African National Volleyball League. He is an outstanding Volleyball player and has been the SPU Volleyball Team Captain since 2019 until 2021.

Chess

2017 Individual bronze medal (3rd position) at the South African Open

Hockey

5 Northern Cape IPT U21 Representatives 

2021 USSA Men’s Finalist   B section

2021 USSA Ladies 3rd place -B section

Football

2019 Regional Playoff champions (promotion to regional men’s league)

2019 Finalist USSA B section (promoted to A section)

2019 Manager(coach) and player of the tournament USSA Championship

Angus Spandiel and Mohao Nkota transferred to Orlando Pirates (MDC) for 2020/2021 season

Basketball

Three players (Thuso Segano, Omogolo Matlhaku and Oupa Maine) from the university basketball team were part of the team (Trojans) that went to represent Northern Cape at the national club championship. Head Coach (Neo Khonkhobe) was part of Trojans as player/coach.

Click here to read the latest Sol Plaatje University Sport News.