Judge Jennifer Yvonne Mokgoro - Chair: Council, EXCO & REMCO

BJuris (NWU) LLB (NWU) LLM (NWU) LLM (UPenn)

Judge Jennifer Yvonne Mokgoro has stepped down from the Constitutional Court of South Africa where she served from the inception of the Court in 1994 until the end of her 15 year term in 2009. She served simultaneously on the South African Law Reform Commission from 1995, chairing the Commission (1999 – 2011).

Read more

Immediately prior to her appointment to the Constitutional Court, she was Associate Professor of Law at what is now the University of North West (Mahikeng Campus), the University of the Western Cape and the University of Pretoria. She serves as Professor Emeritus at the above universities and also at the Universities of South Africa and Cape Town.

She has been conferred with the degree Doctor of Laws (honoris causa) by the universities of the then Bophuthatswana, Western Cape, Limpopo, South Africa, Cape Town, Witwatersrand, Pennsylvania (USA) and Toledo (USA). She serves on the Council of the South African Institute of Judicial Education, chairing the Curriculum Development Committee of Council.

She is Chairperson of the Nelson Mandela Children’s Fund and is also a member of the Mandela Rhodes Trust. She is commissioner of the International Commission of Jurists (2014 – 2019), a member of the International Advisory Board of the Open Society’s Justice Initiative Project (2014-2017) and serves on the International Arbitration Committee of the International Olympics Committee. In October, 2017, she was appointed by the Secretary General of the United Nations to the position of Chairperson of the United Nations Internal Justice Council (UNIJC), for a period of four years.

Judge Mokgoro is patron of the South African Chapter of the International Women Judges’ Association, a member of the South African Women Lawyers’ Association, and the International Women’s Forum. She is a recipient of a number of honours and awards, including the annual award by Advocates for Transformation (2014) and by the General Bar Council (2014) for service to the law in Southern Africa. She has been appointed by the President of South Africa as an Advocate for Social Cohesion (2012-2016).


Ms Jennifer Anne Glennie - Deputy Chair: Council, EXCO & REMCO

BSc (Hons) (WITS) MA (London)

Ms Glennie was appointed by the Minister in 2013 to oversee the establishment of Sol Plaatje University through chairing the five person Interim Council set up for this purpose and has served as the Deputy Chairperson of the Council, since 2014. She was a long-standing Council member of Unisa and its Audit and ICTs Sub Committees, and she served two terms as the South African government’s representative on the Board of the Commonwealth of Learning (CoL).

Read more

As a member of the Minister’s Council on Higher Education, Ms Glennie was an active participant in the establishment of South Africa’s first Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC), and served for 10 years as the Deputy Chairperson. Ms Glennie is the Founding Director of Saide – a not-for-profit organisation committed to enabling successful open learning for all.

She was the founding president of South Africa’s distance education association, NADEOSA. She served for many years in very senior positions at the Sached Trust, a prominent anti-apartheid education organisation. She has received honorary awards from both Commonwealth of Learning (CoL) for her significant contribution to distance education and the University of Pretoria for her contribution to education in South Africa.

Ms Glennie has a BSc Hons in Mathematics from Wits and a Masters degree from the University of London.


Mr Tshepo Macdonald Bloom

NDip (HR Management) (VUT) 

Dip (Public Management and Governance) (NWU)

BA Hons (Labour Law) (UFS)

MPA (Public Administration) (UFS)

Cert (Municipal Financial Management) (NWU) PhD (NWU) Current studies

Mr Abdul Latief Kimmie

BCompt (UNISA)

BCompt Hons (CTA) (UNISA)



Mr Abel Nyanyana Madonsela

National Dip in Public Relations and Business Communication (TUT)

BTech in Public Relations and Business Communication (TUT)


Ms Moira Antoinette Marais-Martin


Higher Diploma in Education (UWC)

B.Ed (UWC)

M.Ed (UWC)

Mr Andrew Conway Gaorekwe Molusi

B.Journ (Rhodes University)

MA (University of Notre Dame Ind. USA)

Mr Julius Jacob Mutyorauta

BSc (University of Botswana, Lesotho and Swaziland)

MSc (Geophysics) (University of Zimbabwe)

MSc (Mineral Exploration) (London)

DIC (Mineral Exploration) (London)


Judge Mmathebe Violet Phatshoane 




Mr Goolam Hoosain Akharwaray


BProc (UCT)


Certificate in Management (UCT)

Certificate in Municipal Financial Management


Mr Harry Mandla Ndzilili


Cert. Government Communications and Marketing and Public Service Management Dip. Journalism (TUT)

B Tech Public Management (CUT)


Internal Council Members

Prof Andrew Crouch

BSc (Chemistry and Biochemistry) (UWC)

BSc Hons (Chemistry) (UWC)

PhD (Concordia University, Canada)

Executive Management - Deputy Vice-Chancellor Sol Plaatje University

Prof Mary Jean Baxen

Primary Teachers Diploma (Bechet College of Education)

Bachelor of Arts (University of South Africa)

Master of Education (Mathematics Education) (University of Leeds (United Kingdom))


Head of School of Humanities, Professor Gelebe

Prof Aifheli Calson Gelebe

BSc Hons (University of Venda)

MSc (Rhodes University)

PhD (Rhodes University)

Prof Jesmael Mataga

BA Hons (University of Zimbabwe)

MA (University of Zimbabwe)



Mr Thabo Moilwa

Ms Thulile Ngema