SPU hosts second General Meeting of the Convocation

On Saturday, 25 November 2023, the University Registrar, Dr Jody Cedras, hosted the second General Meeting of the Sol Plaatje University (SPU) Convocation. The meeting was in a hybrid format with in-person attendance at the SPU South Campus Multipurpose Hall as well as online attendance.

The meeting had two main objectives. Firstly, it allowed the outgoing Executive Committee members of the Convocation to present their report for the period November 2020 to November 2023. Secondly, the meeting, in terms of the University Statute required the election of a new Executive Committee as the current term was coming to an end. The event also provided a valuable opportunity for alumni to network, reconnect with peers and reinforce their ties with the University. The election of the University’s second Executive Committee of the Convocation marks a significant milestone in the institution’s development.

Dr Cedras warmly welcomed everyone before handing over to the Convocation’s Vice-President, Mr Vuyolwethu George, who chaired the proceedings.

Mr George gave the President’s Report on behalf of Mr Thabo Moshe, the outgoing President. He emphasised the Executive Committee’s role during their tenure in fostering a vital connection between the University and its alumni, while working in tandem with the Registrar and Alumni Relations offices. The President of the Convocation serves as a member of the University Council and, in this capacity, contributes to University policies and asserts the perspectives of alumni on matters concerning the University. The meeting also noted that Mr Solomon Motsumi stepped down as Secretary of the Convocation in early 2023 after accepting a position within the University, which disqualified him from continuing as a Convocation member.

The SPU Statute mandates that the Convocation elect a President, Vice-President, Secretary and two additional members from within its ranks to serve on the Executive Committee of the Convocation.

SPU congratulates the following members elected to serve on the Executive Committee of the Convocation for the period November 2023 to November 2026.

Mr Tiro Cwaile: President

Mr Thato MacDonald Kesekile: Deputy President

Mr Buza Ndebele: Secretary

Two additional members:

Ms Thami Tebeka

Mr Thabo Moilwa

We wish you all a successful tenure!

Upon assuming the role of President of the Convocation, Mr Tiro Cwaile expressed his heartfelt gratitude to those who voted for him. He recognised the crucial role their steadfast support played in bolstering his confidence and committed himself to representing a broad spectrum of opinions within the convocation.

“Looking ahead, I see a convocation that embraces inclusivity, promotes teamwork and recognises the distinct contributions of each member. Let’s join forces to build a space where everyone’s voice is acknowledged and appreciated,” he added.

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *