Celebratory Dinner for SRC Transition

On 29 November 2023, Sol Plaatje University‘s Vice-Chancellor and Principal, Professor Andrew Crouch, hosted a dinner to both welcome and induct the incoming Student Representative Council (SRC) for 2023/24 and to bid a fond farewell to the outgoing SRC members of 2022/23.

Mr Buntu Mnyaka, Senior Manager of Student Life and Development at SPU’s Division of Student Affairs, welcomed guests and introduced the new SRC Members to the Vice-Chancellor and guests in attendance. 

Prof Andrew Crouch reminded the incoming SRC about their constitutional obligation in relation to institutional governance and their contribution to the success of the academic project: “You have a clear mandate to lead the student body.  You should not squander this on petty political squabbles or emulate the national political landscape. Set new benchmarks for excellence and ensure the representation of the entire student body.” 

Prof Crouch thanked the outgoing SRC for their contribution to the University during their tenure. “I wish the outgoing SRC well in their future endeavours. I want to also remind you that you remain ambassadors of SPU inside and outside the institution, therefore, do good always,” he said. 

Outgoing Acting President of the 2022/23 SRC, Mr Quinton Oliphant, reminded the incoming SRC members that this is not a job for one man. “Working as a member of the SRC necessitates collaboration since goals are more easily achieved when individuals work together. I urge you to respect one another and collaborate on projects towards a common goal to benefit the SPU student, whom you represent,” he said. 

The newly elected President of the 2023/24 SRC, Mr Letlhogonolo Thintha expressed his gratitude and reminded SRC members of the 2023/24 vision and mission of the SRC. “Our vision is to be an empowering, impactful, capable, vibrant and competent student representative council where all the students at SPU realise their potential through unity and inclusivity. We aim to offer high-quality student support services while advocating, representing and engaging the student body to effectively serve the best interests of the SPU student community,” he said. 

Ms Annalene Marais, Chief Financial Officer at SPU, congratulated the incoming SRC and wished them well for their tenure in office in her closing remarks. She encouraged members to reach out to SPU’s senior management whenever the need arises to establish collaborative ties between students and senior management to work toward one common goal to the benefit of SPU and its students. 

Here are the new SPU SRC 2023/24 Members as well as the new SRC Sub-structure 2023/24:

Incoming SRC Members 2023/2024



Thintha Letlhogonolo


Seokwane Dikano

Deputy President

Liswoga Gudani


Sekgalo Garreth Tshireletso

Deputy Secretary-General

Seelamo Tshepang

Treasurer General

Mokguthu Kamogelo

Media & Projects Officer

Wolf Shane Marvin

Residence Officer

Khosa Mbali

Academic Affairs Officer

Mpete Junior

Gender Safety and Disability Officer

Lekgari Pelonomi Felicity

Community Outreach Officer

Khumalo Palesa

Clubs, Societies and Organisations Officer

Makgolokwe Lebogang

Sports, Arts, Culture and Recreation Officer

Booysen Ayanda Adriaan

Commuter Student Officer


SRC Sub-structure 2023/2024



Songca Yeyethu

H.A. Morris & Midlands Commuter Representative

Modise Gomolemo

Hadison Park Commuter Cluster Representative

Koelman Zanyiswa

Southridge Commuter Cluster Representative

Madito Venessa

Ashburnham Commuter Representative

Diutlwileng Gofaone

Herlear & Hall Commuter Cluster Representative

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *