Third annual Vice-Chancellor’s Cycle Challenge – A roaring success

On Sunday, 12 November 2023, Sol Plaatje University (SPU) hosted its third annual Vice-Chancellor’s Cycle Challenge at the SPU South Campus Sports Precinct. This year’s event was particularly significant as it coincided with the university’s decade-long celebrations, making this edition especially noteworthy. The 50 km and 100.8 km races attracted the active participation of over 100 cyclists.

The Cycle Challenge is more than just a race. It symbolises a vibrant celebration of community spirit and well-being. It has grown into a key event, aiming to unite people and engage them as part of the wider #MySPU community, embodying the values of Sol Plaatje University.

As the cyclists lined up at the starting line, Vice-Chancellor and Principal Professor Andrew Crouch warmly welcomed all participants and expressed gratitude for their involvement. “I want to express my gratitude to you and our sponsors, who have all played a crucial role in the success of this event. I wish you all well in your race and the targets that you have set,” he remarked.

The atmosphere was electric as cyclists pedalled towards the finish line, greeted by the cheers and applause of family and friends, and a high-five from our SPU mascot, Gemmie, to all who crossed the finish point.

Mr Kobus Burger, President of the Northern Cape Cycling Federation, awarded the prizes and extended congratulations to all the participants. He also expressed his appreciation to the event organisers for executing a splendid event and to the sponsors for their collaboration in ensuring its success.

The Vice-Chancellor’s Cycle Challenge was a delightful day out for the whole family. The festivities included a market catering to all ages, featuring various stalls and entertaining activities for children, keeping them engaged throughout the day. Meanwhile, adults could relax responsibly in the beer garden, enjoying the convivial atmosphere.

Sol Plaatje University extends warm congratulations to all the winners in the categories listed below:

100.8km Female

1st place – Madiseng Motlatso

2nd place – Elmien Vorster

3rd place – Tinkie Geldenhuys

100.8km Male

1st place – Jean Fourie

2nd place – Marius Wessels

3rd place – Jonathan Stanfley

50km Female

1st place – Karen Erasmus

2nd place – Ronel Bailey

3rd place – Theresa Hefer

50km Male

1st place – Johan Griessel

2nd place – Karl Rost

3rd place – Charl Erasmus

e-Bike 100.8km Male

Glenwyn Burger

e-Bike 50km

1st pace – Piet Nieuwenhuizen

2nd place – Deon Bester

3rd place – Johan Hendriks

Click on the link below to see the timing results from the Northern Cape Cycling Federation:

Overall Classification

Gender Classification

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *